Home on PEI

Well, I am finally home on PEI. No more excuses now not to go full out and make this business happen. Well, not too many, anyway. Eye surgery is slowing me down, blah. Happened on Monday in Halifax. Thank God for Steve, whose new moniker is Doc Steve. Not only did he have to put eye drops in for me but he also had to listen to me wail. He watched a lot of tv, which is something he never does. I knew he was getting bored when I woke up from a drug induced snooze to find him watching Desperate Housewives, minus the audio. Guess he had his own fantasies about those women, who needs the distraction of a storyline, ha ha? At least he was entertained.

Before that craziness happened, I was happily plodding along having meetings with potential partners and I even had the good fortune to stumble upon a short film shoot. Mugisha Enterprises of Charlottetown hired me to help complete their camera team, so I had a blast, slating and pulling some focus and even getting to cam op a couple of times.

Otherwise, I have had many moments of wondering why the hell I came back to PEI. Guess the short answer is Steve, another may be that I truly do believe that I can make some films here. I see that there is an active little film community around, mostly in Charlottetown (about an hour’s drive), associated with the Island Media Arts Co-op (IMAC), which is head up by a great go-getter by the name of Corin McFadden (his brother Will starred in Bobby’s Peace, and also worked on the camera team of the short film). I have high hopes that interested parties like Corin and Will, as well as Brian and Patti, the makers of Consequences, will help effect change in the film environment around the Island. I will not last long here if I can’t get my own company up and running, and make some films and make a living. As it is right now, the new meds I have to take for my ridiculous eye problem cost the whole paycheque from Consequences. And I need those every month. Plus car registration, insurance, etc…I need some income. Steve has been great, considering he is not getting much back from me right now, given the recuperating from eye surgery thing. He didn’t even get to Binnacle, his fave sailing shop in Halifax! Guess my wailing and moaning and whining convinced him he oughtta stay close by. Hmmm, not much wonder he locked the windows before he went out for ice. (there are certain levels of pain where we humans contemplate the fact that non-existence might be better than existence).

Anyways, Steve puts up with a lot from me, considering how worried I am about this next stage of my career. Funny thing is, though, that I am also really excited about this next stage as well. I have a meeting set up with Mark, my Doc Co-Producer, for this weekend, and I am very optimistic that we will hash out a lot of details and put together a dynamic pitch for Superchannel that will have the execs dancing on their desks, glad they found us. ‘Cause we are going to make an awesome doc and I know the ride is going to be superb. In the meantime, I gotta fix my eye cause I have already lost some sight and although my other eye is super eye, that would just be the universe’s biggest joke on me, taking away my vision just as I am getting started. Film is a visual medium, after all.

So I will be optimistic and hopeful, and maybe someday will see if my eye doc in Halifax will let me feature her in a doc I would love to do about women immigrants. I think she is Polish…she probably has a pretty cool story. This doc would feature my sister’s kids, Jane and Lana, whose birth Country is China, also friends I know from Kosovo, as well as some of the Iraq and Iranian women I met in Vancouver. Strong women, all of them. Worthy of their own doc.

Okay, gotta get some work done, still haven’t tracked down meeting space for Mark and I on Sunday. Have to go out and register my car with my last $ 40 (God, are you hearing this? I just need a bit more to get me by, okay?) and take some pics for my new website.

bluemountain entertainment, here we come!!!

Susan

PS Was a good drive home across the Country, ‘cept the fuel pump died in Quebec so Steve and I got an extra night in a cozy hotel in Cabano. Ever go there? What a pretty little town! Glad I got to see it, even if it did cost me a shit load of money I didn’t have. Gotta look at the bright side.

PPS Christopher dropped a class in his jazz percussion, bummer, but he sounds like he is doing okay. Keeps taunting me with texts from Vancouver like ‘it’s warm here again today, ya oughtta come and hang out’. It usually is punctuated with a smiley emoticon with its tongue stuck out. Note: I have not been warm since I got back to PEI. It is freezing here and too expensive to turn the heat on at home…makes me type faster, ha!

Leave a Reply

