The Waiting Game and Zumba

Hi!

Just killing some time while video imports into Avid for my Demo Reel…I figured it was time to create a demo reel, since I actually now have some product to include. So stay tuned – I’ll post a link on my website and upload it to youtube. That being said…hmmm…I actually need to update my website. Lots has been happening so I might as well fill y’all in as well. Although at the same time…I’m not a lot closer to making any of those Features…but I know that takes time. I am hearing some rumblings that an Exec Producer may be coming on board – but I haven’t chosen a project yet. I suppose if you’re going to live and breathe a movie production for the next few years, you ought to pick one you love. My personal favorite is the hockey movie, although of course it needs umpteen thousand rewrites and a super duper story editor. But those characters are my favorites. I’d be curious to know which project intrigues you the most…feel free to leave a comment.

Okay, well, the laaaassstttt file is now being imported into Avid, so I will soon be off to happily edit. Need to practice on Avid lots cause you never know when a job opportunity will pop up, and I’m a basic picture editor at this point. As a matter of fact, I’m stalled on my drumming doc until I can hire a more advanced editor to help me finish (sorry, if you’ve been waiting for it, but I’ve been working on that project entirely alone and it’s only healthy to involve some type of collaboration). I could use an investor (do I mention this in every blog post? What’s wrong with me – I feel like I am becoming a beggar!). But seriously folks, the doc is looking beautiful…but it will take a bit to get it finished. A bit of money (manna from the heavens, anyone?) and a more experienced editor. Sorry if I am beating a dead horse here via repetition.

What else is going on in life? (Seeing as the import is only at 24%) Well…went to the gym last night. Was a good workout. Went there instead of to Zumba because my little baby sister had hurt her back and so needed to be cautious about exercising. The gym is more selective than Zumba, cause like at Zumba the music carries you away into that magnificent realm of jumping and dancing and that whole out of body endorphiny experience, and you, uh, forget yourself. I can imagine what I would look like on camera flailing around at Zumba. Ha! Arms waving, trying to bend over to do that shaky shoulder thingy…must be hilarious. But at Zumba you don’t care in the moment because all of us look that ridiculous. Except Krista, the FitChic in charge – she’s got rhythmn, so if we all pretend we can dance like her, we get through the class! Music…gets you Zumba-ing, your heart pumping, helps you feel better. That explains why I always feel I must add powerful songs to film, or spend some time choosing instrumental music. Some Directors disagree, and think that music detracts from the film experience. Not so me – as a matter of fact, what was it I watched the other day, and the music just didn’t suit, it was terrible…well, I’d best not say but in fact it almost made me want to turn off the film. It was that unsuitable. Details, people, details. The score DOES matter. Thanks to local band Lazy jacks for allowing me to use one of their songs in Dreamers – it works beautifully. BTW, did you know that SCOURCE is a word? If I remember correctly, scource is the name for a song that starts in the film, say on the radio in a scene, then, turns into full-out SCORE. Think Tiny Dancer in one of the bus scenes in Almost Famous. (LOVE that film. Cameron Crowe rocks!).

OK the import is at 95%, so I will sign off and say so long. Go watch something and pay special attention to the score – would love to hear your thoughts on this, too.

s’long –

Susan

PS I started watching Glee, and I like the show, but I have to admit that the covers sometimes seem to be a concession – wouldn’t original music be better? Think Fame…ok, so I’m dating myself, but that was one of the strengths of the original Fame film and tv series. Also, there’s gotta be a better way than playing entirely the pre-recorded versions of each song. The lip synching is kinda cheesy and doesn’t really work. It’s like the Producers are compromising picture for sound. I agree that sound is of utmost importance, 70% of a film, but in this case it detracts from the story. Just a thought. Couldn’t help myself. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

